WATERFORD CRYSTAL

The House of Waterford Crystal in Waterford City boasts the world’s largest collection of Waterford Crystal and offers a unique insight into crystal production. Visitors can watch craftsmen at work, visit the exhibition of sporting trophies and statement pieces and the large retail store with worldwide shipping facility or relax in the coffee shop.

Learn about the centuries old tradition of Waterford Crystal making, including wooden mould making, crystal blowing and furnace, crystal cutting, crystal sculpting, engraving, design inspiration, quality inspection and finishing during the factory tour.

REGINALD’S MUSEUM

Reginald’s Tower, a circular defence tower, in Waterford City, was built at the beginning of the 13th century and has played a pivotal role in Ireland's history, now hosting a major new exhibition of Waterford Treasures, relating to the story of Waterford’s Viking heritage.

It was here that Strongbow, the leader of the Anglo-Norman invasion force, met Aoife, the daughter of Dermot Mc Murrough, King of Leinster. Their marriage changed the course of Irish history forever. 
At various stages Reginald’s Tower has been used as a mint, prison and military store.

COMERAGH DRIVE

From hidden coves to mountain scenery, this loop explores Waterford’s coastal UNESCO European Geopark taking in Waterford, Tramore, Dungarvan, Comeragh Mountains Loop, Lemybrien, before venturing into the mountains to the spectacular Mahon Falls and back to Waterford city. Distance: 170km. (106 miles) approx.  

It’s a hypnotic route, spotted with Blue Flag beaches, stunning views and pretty villages. Places to see on route: Tramore Strand, The Metal Man, Fenor Bog, Tankardstown Mine, The Nire Valley, Ormond Castle, Mahon Falls, Curraghmore House & Gardens and Waterford & Suir Valley Railway.

BISHOPS PALACE

Waterford city has the finest collection of 18th Century architecture of any city in Ireland outside of Dublin. Its great legacy from this era includes elegant architecture, silverware and of course, fine glassmaking. This period of elegance began in Waterford in 1741 when the Anglo-German architect Richard Castles designed the wonderful Bishop’s Palace. 

Today, the Bishop’s Palace Museum houses a display of Waterford treasures from 1700 to the 20th Century, and gives visitors a wonderful insight into the history of what was, up until the 1750s, Ireland’s second city.