King John's Castle

King John's Castle is an 800+ year old Military Castle located in Limerick City on the banks of the River Shannon. It features a state-of-the-art interpretative centre which allows visitors to explore and discover over 800 years of King John's Castle and Limerick City’s dramatic history all through Touch-screen technology. In peak season there are costumed characters including stonemason, blacksmith, soldiers and siege women telling tales of siege and warfare & interacting with visitors. There is also a Café on site.

Thomond Park Stadium

Thomond Park is the home ground of Munster Rugby, one of the most successful and best supported rugby clubs in the world. The famous venue, renowned internationally for its unique history and atmosphere, has been redeveloped and now boasts an increased capacity of 25,600 plus an extensive range of conference & banqueting facilities.

The Milk Market

The Milk Market, in Limerick City is the oldest weekly market in the country, with fresh produce from land and sea. The quadrangle was built in 1792 as an extension to the old city walls and has served as the hub for the sale of local produce ever since. The site, while steeped in local history, has been transformed into an all-weather venue with daily market shops, a Friday City Market, Saturday's famous food market, Sunday's riverside variety market as well as a monthly Artisans Craft Fair.

Hunt Museum

The Hunt Museum, in Limerick City, is home to an internationally important collection of some 2,000 original works of art and antiquity dating from the Neolithic to the 20th Century, donated to the people of Ireland by John and Gertrude Hunt. There are artefacts from Greece, Rome, Egypt and the Olmec civilization as well as an important collection of Irish archaeological material. The museum also has an excellent gift shop and restaurant. Get there early if you're going for lunch for a great view of the river.

St. John's Cathedral

The Cathedral of St John the Baptist is the present cathedral of Limerick City, boasting Ireland’s highest spire (94m). The property - previously home to a medieval church also dedicated to St John the Baptist - was purchased in 1796 and kept in a secret trust, as Roman Catholics could not buy land at the time. In 1856, construction finally began on the Victorian Gothic-style cathedral, designed by English architect Thomas Hardwick. The interior features notable stained glass windows and several important statues, including one of the Pieta.